Join Rep. James' CRA to Stop the EPA's Comply-or-Die Tailpipe Emissions Rule



Rep. James invites your boss to join him in introducing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution of disapproval in response to the EPA March 20th announcement on the tailpipe emissions rule: "<u>Multi-Pollutant Emissions Standards for Model Years 2027 and later Light-Duty</u> and <u>Medium-Duty Vehicles</u>." This latest EPA overreach picks winners and losers by setting emission standards at a level that only electric vehicles can meet – effectively pushing gas powered vehicles out of the U.S. marketplace and eliminating consumer choice.

We are working with E&C to find the best date for introducing the CRA

Background:

As much as the President and EPA claim the rule preserves "consumer choice," nothing could be further from the truth. The punch line is that this latest regulation remains a *de facto* electric vehicle mandate with EPA requiring about two-thirds of new light-duty vehicle sales by 2032 to be all electric. This Rule commandeers the American car market: intentionally driving up supply without regard to any kind of widespread and overwhelming domestic demand. These are the facts:

- Electric vehicles continue to be <u>more expensive</u> than other alternatives and aren't practical for many Americans.
- This forced EV transition also <u>plays right into China's hands</u>. China controls the vast majority of critical minerals mining, processing, and manufacturing for electric vehicles.
- <u>According to Consumer Reports</u>, electric vehicles have almost 80% more problems and are generally less reliable than vehicles with internal combustion engines.

Current Cosponsors:

Rep. Walberg, Rep. Duarte, Rep. Stefanik, Rep. Hudson, Rep. Guthrie, Rep. Hern Rep. Bergman
Rep. Reschenthaler, Rep. Duncan, Rep. McClain, Rep. Buddy Carter, Rep. Clay Higgins
Rep. John Joyce, Rep. Perry, Rep. Rosendale, Rep. Rick Allen, Rep. Mike Carey, Rep. Latta
Rep. Adrian Smith, Rep. Russ Fulcher, Rep. Curtis, Rep. Ogles, Rep. Feenstra,
Rep. Fitzgerald, Rep. Pence, Rep. Nunn, Rep. D'Esposito, Rep. Gonzales, Rep. Timmons
Rep. Banks, Rep. Hunt, Rep. Collins. Rep. Bice, Rep. Mooney, Rep. Obernolte,
Rep. Carol D. Miller, Rep. Armstrong, Rep. Mann, Rep. Pfluger, Rep. Weber, Rep. Balderson
Rep. Huizenga, Rep. Crenshaw, Rep. Guest, Rep. Meuser, Rep. Max Miller, Rep. Cloud
Rep. Fleischmann, Rep. Newhouse, Rep. Austin Scott, Rep. Cammack, Rep. Grothman,
Rep. Finstad, Rep. Houchin, Rep. Rose, Rep. Roger Williams

Please contact Arian Beckwith at Arian.Beckwith@mail.house.gov to cosponsor